//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

My struggles with academic writing (pt. 1)

Ok, so I am pretty sure that I am not the only one who’s had an issue with writing academically. I’m also positive that I am not the only graduate student who has had issues with writing their Masters paper, thesis, project or whatever you wanna call it.  But I feel like the problems I’m having come from a lack of confidence in what I’m writing about, which is a big surprise because my topic is on an issue that I’ve written about quite often. I shouldn’t be having this much of a problem, but trying to get the puzzle pieces to fit has put me in a place where I feel mentally exhausted and demoralized. To cap it all off I still haven’t come up with a title for this darn thing, is that bad? My adviser doesn’t seem to think so but she nearly put me into a panic when she asked if I had come up with one to describe what I was writing about.

Part of me regrets selecting this topic, but I’ve some how managed to push forward to produce a total of 7.5 pages (so far) of what I think is crap, but others seem to think its heading in the right direction (whatever that looks like).  I just hope that I can finish off this thing by the end of June so I can submit it to my committee for review and be done with this degree, so I can focus on my next one.

Stay tuned I’m sure there will be more to come as I work through this mess!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow Me

